top of page

Blog

This is where I'll share my various writings for Out Of The Package and Comic Book Mojo

  • Writer's pictureJoe Gardner

Out Of The Package - Why Is The Rum Gone?




Goodness, folks! It's been almost a month since my last post. I apologize. Things have just been a little crazy around here, taking my focus away from here. But I'm back! And I'm here with my look at the Jack Sparrow Sixth Scale figure from Hot Toys, that I won during Sideshow Collectibles Spooktacular.


Right out of the shipper is the beautiful packaging. Way more intricate than my Boba Fett packaging, this features some nice art from the movie series. Now, I haven't seen Dead Men Tell No Tales, so I'm not familiar with the tablet/key card and its significance. But it's a nice little touch. And I'm not ashamed to admit that it took me a minute to figure out exactly how to open the dang thing!








And just like Fett, this bad boy comes with a ton of accessories! So many little trinkets you can attach to his costume. But mind you, they're tricky! A total of 7 hands, 2 portraits, removable pirate hat, a bottle with a ship inside, a bottle of rum (empty or full, no one knows!), a spyglass, 2 pistols, a dagger with sheath, a cutlass (actual metal!) with sheath, a wanted poster, and a super detailed base. With zombie shark! He also comes with 2 extra wrist pegs. This came in especially handy, since I snapped one as I was posing for these recent pics.



But the absolute coolest part of this figure is that his eyes are articulated on both portraits! Check out the video below for a demonstration.



So, I'm really digging this figure. And the fact that I won him makes it even sweeter. There's lots of posing potential here, I just wish I was a little more talented at it.


I'm not going to say too much at the moment, but I recently won another figure during Take Your Action Figure To Work Day. Here's the pic that won. With caption!



And I just want to say thanks again to Sideshow for the piece and all they do for their customers and fans.


Well, that's it for now. Hopefully, it won't be long before you hear from me next.


Until next time, you'll find me in the toy aisle.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page