top of page

Blog

This is where I'll share my various writings for Out Of The Package and Comic Book Mojo

  • Writer's pictureJoe Gardner

With Great Power...

Greetings! How has everyone been? I know it's been a while, but I'm back with a new post -- The Advanced Suit Spider-Man Sixth Scale figure from Hot Toys. But don't call it a comeback.



So, I've had a decent string of luck the last month, or so, in regards to online giveaways. Venom and Deadpool Q-figs from Quantum Mechanix, a streaming sound system from Roku, and this here Spider-Man figure from Sideshow Collectibles. I tried a couple of lottery tickets, but my luck didn't seem to extend to that. Drat!

Anywho, to win this amazing figure, Sideshow was running a #SpideySenseChallenge on TikTok. The idea was to use a particular filter that resembled Spidey's Spider-Sense, then type in the caption what would set off your spider-sense. Then record the video and post it with the necessary hashtags. I'm not sure how many entered, but I was the lucky winner. Here's my lovely entry here:


So, there you go. If you can't laugh at yourself, how can you laugh at anyone else?


The figure...


This figure is Amazing! Spectacular! Sensational! Friendly! Uh, Web? Ok, I tried too many title adjectives. But seriously, this might be my favorite figure to date, and easily the best Spider-Man figure I own.



Right out of the box, you have lots of accessories. I find it's easier to use the accessory shot from the Sideshow site to convey this. Hands, webs, magnetic eye panels, web shooters, and other goodies give you many options. The eye panels help to emote Spidey's emotions in the same way they are in other media. I find the Lil Spidey to be quite cute. But, is it supposed to be a plush? I haven't played the game, so I'm not sure.



I wasn't overly smitten with the suit at first, but it has definitely grown on me. It's a nice update of the classic red and blue, and the large spider logo feels like an homage to the black suit.



The figure itself is quite poseable. I have played with it more since I got it than all my other 1/6th figures combined. I find myself wanting to try out new poses for Spidey. Not that I'm that great of a poser. But, I think I came up with some good ones. He's just so much fun to play with! And the suit moves quite well with the figure. But I have been warned about suit fatigue or damage, if I leave in certain poses for too long. That's a risk I'm willing to take, though, because I can't just leave him in a static pose.



So, I finally got a sixth scale figure of one of my all-time favorite characters. A suit that I might not have seriously considered, had I not won it. But I am loving it! Now I want all the Spidey figures! Seriously, I'm looking at all the other Spider-Man figures offered by Hot Toys and I have a long wish-list.


And funny that I mention a wish-list, because I got to thinking about what Spidey suits I'd like to see in sixth scale. At the top of that list is the All New, All Different Spider-Man from the 2015 relaunch after Secret Wars. In this relaunch, Peter Parker was in a position of a "Poor Man's" Tony Stark. He had a fortune. He had a global corporation. A network of people to help him. And he shared his wealth and knowledge with everyone he could. And I really like the look of that suit.

Well, Hot Toys and/or Sideshow must use the same tech as Google and Facebook, because they apparently read my mind.







Hot Toys recently announced the Spider Armor - MKIV Suit Sixth Scale Figure. Sure, it's from the game. And it's referred to as Spider Armor MKIV. But it's the same suit! As you can probably guess, this shot to the top of my wish-list. Let's see if I can snag it. Maybe I can convince the wife to make it my anniversary/father's day/birthday/Christmas present for the next year. HA!












I'll say it again; I love this figure! Obviously. I've written my first entry in nearly a year.


I'd love to say I'm back, but it's taken me a week and a half just to write this. But, there's quite a few things I've acquired in the time I've been away that I'd like to write about. I'm working on it.


Until next time, you'll find me in the toy aisle.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page