top of page

Blog

This is where I'll share my various writings for Out Of The Package and Comic Book Mojo

  • Writer's pictureJoe Gardner

Out Of The Package - The Red Pill, Or The Blue Pill?

Updated: Jun 13, 2020

Sooooooo, the first Friday of March was Take Your Action Figure to Work Day. (Yeah, I know that was two months ago!) For those of you unfamiliar, this is a day to take your toys to work, pose them, have fun with them, take pictures, and post to social media using the hashtag #AFWD2019 (or whichever year it is). Normally, this is strictly for fun. But this year, Sideshow Collectibles, or more accurately the social media director for Sideshow, conducted a little contest on both Facebook and Instagram. Whichever post on each platform she liked the most, would win their choice of Sixth Scale figure from a list of four she provided. Lo and behold, my Instagram post won. Below is the winning post.

The winning post from my personal Instagram account.

After a little snafu, which saw the figure I originally chose not be available, I was allowed to choose from any in stock figure, within a price range.


 

I chose Neo.

(Would that be the red pill?)

 

At this point, I had been saving to purchase the Neo figure from Hot Toys, as The Matrix has long been a favorite. When it was announced that Hot Toys had acquired the license, I knew I wanted this figure. But I was afraid he might sell out before I could stash enough cash. But, Neo was on the list I could choose from. Problem solved! Neo was on his way!










This guy comes with a duffel bag full of weapons. Literally! With all you need to recreate the lobby scene from the movie. With the aforementioned duffel, he has 2 rifles, 4 submachine guns (2 of each), 2 uzis, 2 pistols, removable trenchcoat, removable sunglasses, straps and harnesses out the wahoo, base, and stand. And super posable to boot! Just be gentle!


I actually recorded the lobby scene to my phone, so that I could pause and try to recreate some of my favorite poses. I thought about putting that video here, but I don't feel like possibly having to deal with rights issues. But here's some more pictures of the figure!


A cell phone or payphone accessory would've been a nice touch, but that's about the only other thing I think I could've asked for.


The detail of the likeness is amazing! It's like I have a 12 inch Keanu Reeves standing on my shelf!


I totally love this figure. If you're a fan of the Matrix, Keanu Reeves, or just Hot Toys figures, I highly recommend picking this one up.


Until next time, you'll find me in the toys aisle.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page