top of page

Blog

This is where I'll share my various writings for Out Of The Package and Comic Book Mojo

  • Writer's pictureJoe Gardner

Out Of The Package Rerun - Batarang Review



I'm sharing my review from this past January (2018) of the Quantum Mechanix Batarang 1:1 Scale Prop Replica. As I'm able, I'll try to "rerun" some of my columns from the Comic Book Underground site. Here we go!


Out of the Package

Special Edition 1

Quantum Mechanix 1:1 Scale Batarang Prop Replica Review


Greetings! I recently acquired something so cool, so neat, so geeky, I felt I just had to write a review about it. As I’ve stated previously, when I started writing this column, I honestly thought I would be writing mostly about vinyls and action figures. As I’ve progressed and researched more, I’ve expanded to the premium figures, statues, and a few replicas. I’ve even added a few of those premium figures to my collection. But I never imagined I’d add a replica of any sort. Until recently, when I picked up the Justice League 1:1 Scale Batarang Prop Replica from Quantum Mechanix.


I’ll cut to the chase and just note that I made this purchase using my reward points on Sideshow Collectibles, so I didn’t pay anything out of pocket to add this beautiful piece to my collection. But I gladly would!


I’ll just start with the description from the website:


“The Dark Knight never leaves home without his Batarang.

Now our gleaming, screen-accurate replica can be yours. QMx Caliber Metalworks proudly presents the Batman Batarang 1:1 Scale Replica as seen in the movies Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, Suicide Squad and Justice League (2017).

Developed from the screen-used prop, our Batarang has the commanding look and feel of a premium collectible. Cast in a sturdy zinc alloy, this authentic replica sits atop a magnetic stand that mirrors its iconic shape.

The Batman Batarang 1:1 Scale Replica is a must-have addition to your collection. Supplies will be limited, so sign up here for more information and availability. “

And the material specification of “Steel, polished chrome, polyurethane leather”.


Out of the shipping box, the packaging caught my eye. I work in printing, so I tend to notice this sort of thing. A flat matte print job with spot UV on the lettering, logos, and other accents. And the weight. Without even opening the box, I could tell this bad boy had some weight to it. This eased my mind a bit. At a relatively low price point, I was concerned about the material. I have faith in the quality QMx puts into their products, but still was uncertain.


I open it up and remove the base and batarang from the Styrofoam packing. First off, the base is solid. In a shape replicating the bat symbol on Batman’s costume in Justice League, the base is about 10 ½” long, by 6 1/2” wide, and about ½” thick. Good and sturdy, with non-slip padding on the bottom and a magnetic post in the center. It even looks like the slightly weathered symbol from Batfleck’s suit.


And now the batarang itself. I’ll admit that I’m not as familiar with my metals as I used to be, so I’m not sure what the difference is between the zinc alloy stated in the description and the steel stated in the material specs. What I will tell is that this thing is HEFTY. The batarang is 3 ½” by 8 ½” and feels quite solid. The main body is a flat matte black, while the edge “blades” are chrome polished. If you handle it frequently, like I have been, you will leave fingerprints on the chrome. These are easily wiped away with a shirt tail. The only thing that takes away from the look, and it is minor, is the metal disc on the back, by which it attaches to the magnetic post for display. And I have “blades” in quotations because they are not sharpened at all. That isn’t to say this won’t do any damage. In fact, Quantum Mechanix included a Warning note stating as such. You will definitely hurt someone if you were to throw it at them. Not that I, or I’m sure Quantum Mechanix, condone such actions. But I’m pretty sure I’ll be grabbing this if I hear someone in the house in the middle of the night.





In all, I’m extremely happy with this pick up. For the quality and price, I can’t recommend this enough. Especially if you’re a fan of Batman. Out of five prongs on Aquaman’s trident (I know tri means three!), I give the Justice League 1:1 Scale Batarang Prop Replica 5 prongs. Again, I highly recommend this piece. Go here to purchase.


Until next time, you’ll find me in the toy aisle.


You can follow me on Facebook or Twitter.

Or you can email me at outofthepackage74@gmail.com.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page