top of page

Blog

This is where I'll share my various writings for Out Of The Package and Comic Book Mojo

  • Writer's pictureJoe Gardner

Out Of The Package - Best Of 2018

New year greetings to you all! I come to you with my favorites of 2018. A Top 5 list, along with some honorable mentions, of toys that I purchased this past year. A couple were easy picks, the rest weren't. Which is why I'm also doing some honorable mentions. Let's get started!


#5 - Hero Suit Aquaman POP Vinyl, Funko


First on this list is the Funko POP of Aquaman after he finds the Trident of King Atlan, and emerges adorned in the classic comic looking suit. This is the only piece depicting this costume that I own (so far) and was one of my favorite points of the movie. I love the cinematic take on this classic look! Those of you who know me or follow me, know I am a bit of an Aquaman fan. So, it should be no surprise that there is an Aquaman entry on this list.




#4 - Swedish Chef Figure, Diamond Select Toys


Next up is the Swedish Chef action figure from Diamond Select Toys. I purchased this for my wife as a Christmas gift. Tina is a fan of the Muppets, and Chef is one of her favorites. DST knocked it out of the park with this guy. The sculpting, articulation, and accessories are all on point. Chef comes with a ton of cooking equipment, utensils, and ingredients. And, yes, the ingredients are all Muppets as well. Just like on the shows. BORK!



#3 - Black Manta DC Multiverse Figure, DC/Mattel


Another entry from the Aquaman movie is the Black Manta figure from DC/Mattel. Black Manta is probably my favorite villain, and I was ecstatic with his portrayal in the movie. And this figure is the best toy offering of the cinematic character. There was really no question as to IF I would get this figure, just a matter of WHEN. He looks great. The articulation is very good for this level of toy. The only accessory he has is the manta dagger his father gave him, but that's all he really needs. And, as part of the DC Multiverse line of figures, Manta comes with a Build-a-Figure piece, and when combined with the other three figures in the line (Aquaman, Mera, and Orm/Ocean Master), you have a Trench Warrior figure. I also have Orm, but I still need Aquaman and Mera to finish the figure. The Shrine is swelling.


#2 - Iron Man One:12 Collective, Mezco Toyz


I've gone back and forth on #1 & #2 multiple times the last few days. Right up to, and even while writing this bit. But the uniqueness was the deciding factor. And that brings us to #2, the Iron Man One:12 Collective figure from Mezco Toyz. This figure is just amazing! Without going into a full-blown review (that's coming soon!), I'll just say that he is one of the best Mezco figures I've seen. And that's saying a lot, considering the quality of Mezco's One:12 Collective line. Articulation, accessories, die-cast parts, light up feature, and a magnetic visor! Yeah, this figure is totally worth it!

And I'm suddenly questioning my reasoning again...


#1 - Popeye One:12 Collective, Mezco Toyz


Yeah, yeah, it's a Mezco 1-2 at the top of the list. What can I say? I go with what I like. And with that, my #1 toy for the year is the Popeye One:12 Collective figure from Mezco Toyz. The uniqueness of this figure is what helps to push him over the edge for #1. I mean, who would've thought we'd get a high end figure of Popeye? Or that it would come out as awesome as this guy did?!? If you'd like to read my review, you can click here. From the moment they announced the figure, until the time he was in hand, I was in total anticipation for this figure.




Honorable Mentions


Jack Sparrow Sixth Scale figure - Hot Toys


I won this figure during Sideshow Collectibles' Spooktacular. That's the only thing keeping him off the list. Or even at the top of it. I didn't purchase him. This Jack Sparrow Sixth Scale figure is an absolutely spectacular figure! The articulation, the detail, the intricacies of ... everything! Even his eyes are articulated! He tends to go anywhere between $265-300+. IF you can find him in stock. Kind of glad I won him. Another review I hope to have done and ready for you soon.






Spider-Man One:12 Collective - Mezco Toyz


I picked up this guy in response to the passing of Stan Lee. A spectacular figure. Just not as cool as Popeye and Iron Man. And I was trying to keep this from being an All-Mezco list.













Boba Fett Sixth Scale - Hot Toys


My first Sixth Scale purchase! Hopefully not my last. Again, very cool, just not as cool as I felt about the rest of the list. Tons of detail and accessories, this guy is a welcome addition to my collection. I plan on playing with Boba Fett a little more and getting back to you with a review.










Family Favorites


Tina - Frisch's Big Boy POP, Funko


One of her favorite gifts. She just wishes he was in his familiar burger lofting stance.










Madison - Merida POP, Funko


A long sought after POP, finally snagged this one for the daughter. Her favorite Disney Princess.











More Honorable Mentions


And the rest. The Killing Joke Joker Q-Fig and Goodfeathers Q-Fig Max figures from Quantum Mechanix. The Range Trooper Star Wars Black Series figure from Hasbro. And a handful of POPs from Funko. We just can't get away from them. Anung Un Rama (Hellboy), Spyro the Dragon (seen above), Ghüs (Saga), and the Nightmare Before Christmas Jack and Sally Movie Moment.



I'd like to give a shout-out to The Toy Depot, The Toy Bomb, and 1 Stop Toy Shop for what you guys do and your help in acquiring my Mezco figures!


Well, that's about it for my Best of 2018. Lots of good stuff I'm looking forward to in 2019. Really excited for what this year could hold for Out Of The Package! Hope you all enjoyed this. And, as always...


Until next time, you'll find me in the toy aisle.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page