top of page

Blog

This is where I'll share my various writings for Out Of The Package and Comic Book Mojo

  • Writer's pictureJoe Gardner

Out Of The Package - Christmas Is Coming!

Seasons Greetings! I know I've been slacking a bit lately, especially on Comic Book Mojo, and I apologize for that. Work and life has just been a bit crazy lately and it's just been tough to do any writing. But that doesn't mean things haven't been happening! I've picked up a couple new Mezco One:12 figures, with a couple pre-orders about to drop. I made my first Hot Toys purchase, the Deluxe Boba Fett Sixth Scale figure. And I won a Hot Toys Jack Sparrow Sixth Scale figure during Sideshow Collectibles Spooktacular! Jack should be arriving withing the week. And I hope to give you all updates on those things and more by the end of the year, as I'm off work the entire week of Christmas. And that's what I'm here about.




Yup! I'm here to talk about Christmas. Specifically, the way we decorate around the Gardner home. As I've mentioned, we are all a little geeky here, and we like to show it off. Before I start, I'd like to mention that we have 3 trees up year-round. The tree in my wife's office, which is Yoda themed. The tree in the corner of our bedroom, an older, on it's last leg tree, which holds many ornaments we've collected over the years. And the tree in our kitchen/dining room, which is adorned with kitchen themed decorations, including my old chef's hat. I also enjoy cooking and at one time has aspirations of being a chef. Suffice to say, we love Christmas.



The last few years we've gone with a Star Wars theme for our primary decorations. Our main tree in the front room, that EVERYONE sees, is decked out in Star Wars decorations. Even our front yard has Chewbacca and BB-8 inflatables. We were hoping to add R2-D2 to the front yard this year, but it just didn't work out.




But we did add something we'd been after for a few years. The GREATEST CHRISTMAS DECORATION EVER!! The Death Star Tree Topper from Hallmark. I snagged it on Thanksgiving weekend for 40% off at ThinkGeek. It is so cool! It alternates between glowing blue and red. And with a press of the button on the remote, it will play a snippet of either the Star Wars Theme or the Imperial March. Fortunately (Unfortunately?), this Death Star does not suffer the same fate as the ones in the movies. It does not explode. You can check out the video I uploaded to my YouTube channel below.





See?!? Isn't it cool?!? We also picked up all the Marvel Christmas Funko POPs, along with Buddy the Elf.





And finally, this year I decided to decorate a tree for my Nerd Cave. I completely forgot that I picked up a tree in the after Christmas sales last year, with the intent of using it in my cave. After careful consideration, I decided to go with an X-Mas tree. An X-Men X-Mas tree! I already had all my old Marvel Legends X-Men figures out. For what reason, I don't remember, I must have subconsciously known. So I picked up some blue and gold lights and went to decorating. I'm happy with how it turned out. This may be another year-round tree! And Magneto is at the top because he stayed in position the best! I'm going to go digging in my tubs for the old Toy Biz figures and maybe add a few more decorations!











Check out my video of it!





Well, there you go! I hope you enjoyed our decorations. Show me some of yours on my Facebook or Twitter!


Until next time, you’ll find me in the toy aisle.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page